Different Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

OK Go, French Kicks in Concert from D.C.

OK Go's latest CD is <em>Oh No</em>.
OK Go's latest CD is Oh No.
French Kicks' latest CD is <em>Two Thousand</em>.
French Kicks' latest CD is Two Thousand.

Riding a wave of popularity for its playfully choreographed videos, wit and hyper-catchy pop hooks, OK Go has generated the kind of cult following and buzz most bands could only dream of. The group brought its wildly animated live show to Washington, D.C. for a full concert, originally webcast on NPR.org Nov. 19, 2006. They were joined by the post-punk inspired French Kicks.

OK Go formed in Chicago in 1998 and quickly built a strong local following, opening for acts like Elliott Smith and The Promise Ring. They also served as a house band for a traveling version of the public radio program This American Life. The band soon signed with Capitol Records and released a self-titled debut in 2002 which featured the hit "Get Over It." They followed with 2005's Oh No.

OK Go eventually distinguished itself from other pop-rock groups like The Strokes or Franz Ferdinand with ingenious creativity, a healthy sense of humor and two homemade music videos. The videos featured the band performing synchronized dances to the songs "A Million Ways" and "Here It Goes Again." They became two of the most played videos of all time on MTV and VH1 and spawned countless fan tributes online. "Here It Goes Again" has been viewed more than 8-million times on the video-swapping site Youtube.com.

OK Go features Damian Kulash on vocals and guitar, Tim Nordwind on bass, Dan Konopka on drums and Andy Ross on guitar and keyboards.

French Kicks will open Sunday's live webcast. With members from Washington, D.C. and Brooklyn, French Kicks recently released their fourth album — a collection of new wave, post punk-inspired tunes called Two Thousand. Spin magazine calls it the band's most accomplished album to date, "refined and meticulously crafted."

French Kicks are: Nick Stumpf on lead vocals and keyboards, Josh Wise on vocals and guitar, Lawrence Stumpf on bass, Aaron Thurston on drums and Kush El Amin on guitar, keyboards and percussion.

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.